OPSEU Liquor Board Employees Division

LBED bargaining team, mobilizers elected

The local leaders of OPSEU/SEFPO’s Liquor Board Employees Division (LBED) elected their bargaining team members and regional mobilizers during a virtual meeting on Oct. 24.

More than 100 people took part in the meeting, including OPSEU/SEFPO President Warren (Smokey) Thomas and First Vice-President/Treasurer Eduardo (Eddy) Almeida.

In his opening remarks, Thomas thanked the bargaining team candidates for their courage and commitment to democracy, and addressed some of the issues the LBED division faces, including the COVID-19 pandemic, Bill 124, and privatization.

“Your challenge in this round of bargaining is to protect yourselves and the province,” said Thomas. “You need to protect health and safety in your stores, warehouses and your communities, and you need to protect yourselves and every Ontarian from the dangerous scourge of privatized alcohol sales. It won’t be easy, but never forget – you’re not alone.”

Almeida also noted the importance of fighting against the privatization of alcohol sales in order to bring more money back into the province’s public services, particularly when facing a billion dollar provincial deficit, and making sure that the LBED workers’ value is recognized.

“It’s crucial that you fight hard for stronger job security, and stronger protections against contracting out and privatization,” said Almeida. “You’re on the front lines of COVID-19, but you’re also the front line in the fight against private alcohol sales.”

The current LBED contract expires March 31, 2021. LBED local leaders will vote on their top bargaining priorities during the final demand-set meeting on Jan. 16, 2021.

LBED Bargaining Team 2020-21

Bargaining Team Chair: Colleen Macleod, Local 5107

Logistics Position: – Jeremy Trainor, Local 378

Member at Large: Craig Hadley, Local 5109

Member at Large: Rachel Brunet, Local 4100

Member at Large: Adam Ly, Local 499

Region 1 Mobilizer: Shelley Robitaille, Local 162

Region 2 Mobilizer: Shawn Swayze, Local 287

Region 3 Mobilizer: Tammy Rogers, Local 377

Region 4 Mobilizer: Diane Clarabut, Local 497

Region 5 Mobilizer: Kim Nasello, Local 5111

Region 6 Mobilizer: Leslie Gagnon, Local 683

Region 7 Mobilizer: Rob Mithrush, Local 741