Congratulations to 2022 OPSEU/SEFPO Scholarship recipients!

OPSEU Scholarship. Member Education / Formation Des Membres. Image of books, an apple and grad hat

OPSEU/SEFPO is proud to congratulate all recipients of this year’s scholarship programs!

Every year, dependants of OPSEU/SEFPO members are invited to apply to a variety of scholarships offered by OPSEU/SEFPO to help support their post-secondary journeys. These scholarships are based on particular specializations, including social justice, labour relations, social services, or community organizing, just to name a few.

OPSEU/SEFPO President JP Hornick recognized the recipients and their role in building our communities.

“As an educator, it brings me great joy to congratulate all the recipients of this year’s scholarships,” said Hornick. “It’s vital that young people have the opportunity to pursue a post-secondary education, so I’m glad that OPSEU/SEFPO can provide these scholarships to help the next generation realise their dreams. OPSEU/SEFPO is a family and these scholarships are an investment into our family and into educating and building our communities.”

Following its introduction this year, the OPSEU/SEFPO Continuing Education Scholarships awarded its first recipients. It was created by OPSEU/SEFPO’s Provincial Young Workers Committee (PYC) in an effort to support OPSEU/SEFPO members pursuing additional studies. This scholarship is awarded to one OPSEU/SEFPO member in each of the union’s seven regions.

All submissions were reviewed and marked by an independent adjudicator. In total, 27 scholarships have been awarded, including the HPD scholarship, with a grand total of $25,750!

OPSEU/SEFPO First Vice-President/Treasurer Laurie Nancekivell expressed optimism for a future beyond adversity.

“I want to encourage all the receipts to continue with their studies and keep learning!” said Nancekivell, “I hope these scholarships will help ease the financial burden and allow you to focus on what matters most – your education. OPSEU/SEFPO believes in building our communities from the ground up. I wish you all success in your careers!”

Stay tuned for more information about OPSEU/SEFPO Scholarships in 2023. Please visit the Member Education Unit’s webpage for more information:

2022 OPSEU/SEFPO Scholarship Recipients

The Carol McGregor Scholarship – Elisha Persaud, University of Guelph, PhD Engineering, dependent of Kyle Nickason, Local 237

Curt Bishop Scholarship – Madison Morgan, Western University, Health Science-Kinesiology, dependent of Lydia Morgan, Local 215

The Fred Upshaw Scholarship – Brooke Gelinas, Western University, Bachelor of Health Sciences, dependent of Jason Gelinas, Local 642

The Karen Millar Memorial Scholarship – Kierra Gionet, Lakehead University, Honors Bachelors of Social Work, dependent of James Gionet, Local 701

The Larry Cripps Scholarship – Rhys Smetham, Algonquin College, Police Foundations, dependent of Keeley Smetham, Local 4101

2022 OPSEU/SEFPO Global Solidarity Scholarship Recipients

Anna Sloots, McMaster University, BHA Labour Studies, dependent of James Sloots, Local 579

Melissa Trinh, Queen’s University, Life Sciences and Biochemistry, dependent of Lien Huang, Local 464

Claire English, University of Waterloo, Health Studies, dependent of Lauren Gale-English, Local 238

Amber Priscott, Lakehead University, Nursing, dependent of Brian Priscott, Local 716

Crystal Xue, Wilfrid Laurier University, Communications Studies, dependent of Xian Fan, Local 599

Matthew Allman, Nipissing University, Concurrent Bachelor of Arts/Bachelor of Education – Double major: Mathematics, dependent of Dennis Allman, L599

Edgar Hugh Reichheld, University of Guelph, Mechanical Engineering, dependent of Meghan Reichheld, Local 297

Myriam Boucher, University of Ottawa, Linguistics/Psychology, dependent of Louise Boucher, Local 675

Mikayla Marie D’Onofrio, University of Western Ontario, Applied Mathematics, dependent of Natalie D’Onofrio, Local 102

Charlotte Konyer, Queen’s University, Health Sciences, dependent of Raquel Konyer, Local 368

2022 OPSEU/SEFPO Continuing Education Scholarship Recipients

Erin Dietrich, University of Windsor, Master of Social Work, Local 112

Shirin Rodriques, Sheridan College, Honours Bachelor of Social and Community Development, Local 2100

Kelly Richmond, Ryerson University, Bachelor of Health Administration, Local 480

Angela Edwards, Seneca College, Bachelor of Community Mental Health, Local 512

Danya Beerkens, University of Toronto, Sociology, Local 611

The following are the annual scholarships that OPSEU/SEFPO offers:

  • The Amy Stiles Scholarship
  • The Carol McGregor Scholarship
  • Curt Bishop Scholarship
  • OPSEU/SEFPO Global Solidarity
  • The Fred Upshaw Scholarship
  • The HPD Scholarship
  • The Karen Millar Memorial Scholarship
  • The Larry Cripps Scholarship
  • The OPSEU/SEFPO Continuing Education Scholarship