OPSEU Member Education banner

Congratulations to 2021 OPSEU/SEFPO Scholarship recipients!

OPSEU Scholarship. Member Education / Formation Des Membres. Image of books, an apple and grad hat

Congratulations to the recipients of the 2021 OPSEU/SEFPO Scholarships!

Every year, dependents of OPSEU/SEFPO members are invited to submit an application for a scholarship to help with the costs of their post-secondary education. Each scholarship is awarded based on a particular specialization, such as social justice, labour relations, social services, or community organizing, to name a few. All submissions are reviewed and marked by an independent adjudicator.

OPSEU/SEFPO President Warren (Smokey) Thomas spoke proudly of the union’s scholarship program, noting the importance of supporting education opportunities for young people.

“OPSEU/SEFPO cares about our members’ overall well-being as well as their working conditions, and that means supporting education opportunities for the young people who depend on them,” said Thomas. “Congratulations to all 2021 OPSEU/SEFPO Scholarship recipients! We look forward to seeing you succeed.”

The Fred Upshaw Scholarship, in honour of former OPSEU/SEFPO President Fred Upshaw, was awarded for the first time this year. Fred was the first Black President of a major Canadian union, having been President of OPSEU/SEFPO from 1990-1995. This scholarship commemorates his tireless advocacy on behalf of working people and social justice for all. It is offered annually to dependents of Black and racialized OPSEU/SEFPO members.

A grand total of 16 scholarships were awarded this year, for a grand total of $16,500.

“Access to education not only helps young people learn and grow, but it also strengthens our communities,” said OPSEU/SEFPO First Vice-President/Treasurer Eduardo (Eddy) Almeida. “These bright young scholarship winners are the next generation of workers who will shape our society. All the best to every one of you!”

For the first time next year, the new Continuing Education Scholarship will be awarded. It was created by OPSEU/SEFPO’s Provincial Young Workers Committee (PYC) to support OPSEU/SEFPO members who are pursuing additional studies. A $1000 annual scholarship will be awarded in each of OPSEU/SEFPO’s seven regions.

Stay tuned for more information about the 2022 OPSEU/SEFPO Scholarships. For more information about the program, visit the OPSEU/SEFPO Member Education Unit’s page at: https://opseu.org/member-education/

2021 OPSEU/SEFPO Scholarship Recipients

The Amy Stiles Scholarship – Samuel Paddle, dependent of Eli Paddle, Local 110

The Carol McGregor Scholarship – Michael Handy, dependent of Lisa Handy, Local 145

Curt Bishop Scholarship – Ryo Acosta, dependent of Alexandra Acosta, Local 551

The Fred Upshaw Scholarship – Favour Aina, dependent of Adekunle Aina, Local 554

The Karen Millar Memorial Scholarship – Rylee Dennis, dependent of Carrie A. Dennis, Local 494

The Larry Cripps Scholarship – Jalen Hill, dependent of Scott Hill, Local 287

The OPSEU/SEFPO Global Solidarity Scholarships

  • Allison Lishman, dependent of John Lishman, Local 669
  • Emily Misener, dependent of Andrea Misener, Local 466
  • Hanna Jodoin, dependent of Tuula Jodoin, Local 620
  • Jamilah Christian, dependent of Garth Uriah Christian, Local 137
  • Joren Wilcox, dependent of Jodi Holden, Local 260
  • Kaila Jodoin, dependent of Tuula Jodoin, Local 620
  • Madelin Burt-D’Agnillo, dependent of Dale Burt, Local 354
  • Mathieu Chatelain, dependent of Christine Chatelain, Local 416
  • Sara Churchill, dependent of Teresa Churchill, Local 605
  • Sophia Joseph, dependent of Julee Joseph, Local 558