OPSEU Member Education banner

Congratulations to 2020 OPSEU/SEFPO Scholarship Recipients!

OPSEU Scholarship. Member Education / Formation Des Membres. Image of books, an apple and grad hat

Congratulations to the recipients of the 2020 OPSEU/SEFPO Scholarships! Every year, dependants and wards of OPSEU/SEFPO members are invited to submit an application for a scholarship to help with the costs for their post-secondary education.  Each scholarship is awarded based on particular specialization in social justice, labour relations, social services, or community organizing, to name a few.  All submissions were reviewed and marked by an independent adjudicator.

Two new scholarships were also awarded for the first time.

The Amy Stiles Scholarship was created to honour Amy’s legacy as a union activist and the work that she did on behalf of her local, division and union. She worked as a coordinator for the Personal Support Worker program at Riverside Glen in Guelph. In 2017, she was tragically killed in a car accident on her way home from a rally at Queen’s Park in support of striking college faculty.

The Karen Millar Memorial Scholarship was created in honour of Karen’s work as a Residential Counsellor at a Kemptville group home operated by Pathways to Independence.  She was a victim of a homicide in her workplace.

A grand total of 23 scholarships were awarded this year, including the HPD scholarship, for a grand total of $20,750.

Stay tuned for more information for the 2021 OPSEU/SEFPO Scholarships.  For the first time next year, a new scholarship in honour of Fred Upshaw, former OPSEU/SEFPO President, will be awarded.  It will be open to dependants of Black OPSEU/SEFPO members.

Please visit the Member Education Unit webpage at https://opseu.org/member-education/ for more information about OPSEU/SEFPO Scholarships.

OPSEU/SEFPO President Warren (Smokey) Thomas said the union’s many annual scholarships are just another way the union supports members and their families. “When we fight for better working conditions for our members, we’re also fighting for a better way of life for all those who depend on them. OPSEU/SEFPO scholarships reach right into families to help young people get the best possible start in life, in the best possible way: through a great education. Congratulations to all of this year’s winners, and good luck in your studies!”

OPSEU/SEFPO First Vice-President/Treasurer Eduardo (Eddy) Almeida said that, with rising tuition rates, scholarships were more important than ever. “Our scholarships help bring the dream of getting an excellent education – and the success that comes with it – closer to reality. I wish the very best to this year’s students!”

2020 OPSEU/SEFPO Scholarship Recipients

The Amy Stiles Scholarship – Gloria Chan, dependant of Crystal Leng, Local 110

The Karen Millar Memorial Scholarship – Katelyn Page, dependant of Jane Marie Page, Local 215

The Larry Cripps Scholarship – Vivian Sim, dependant of Brad Sim, Local 308

Curt Bishop Scholarship – Madison Morgan, dependant of Lydia Morgan, Local 215

The Carol McGregor Scholarship – Jacqueline Parry, dependant of Katherine Parry, Local 499

OPSEU/SEFPO Global Solidarity Scholarships –

Amanda Round, dependant of Diane Ivanauskas, Locals 536 and 520
Brooke Gelinas, dependant of Jason Gelinas, Local 642
Chelsea Chow, dependant of Janet Chow, Local 553
Holly Smith, dependant of Georgina Smith, Local 423
Jenna Mitchell, dependant of Carla Mitchell, Local 620
Kiara Gaskin, dependant of Sheryl Gaskin, Local 348
Kiera Gionet, dependant of James Gionet, Local 701
Maryam Afshar, dependant of Fatemeh Shaeri, Local 200
Owen Sauvé, dependant of Erika Sauve, Local 646
Sarah Hancock, dependant of Arlene Hancock, Local 330

In addition, congratulations to the winner of the NUPGE Scholarship for LGBTQI2S Students, Madison Rodriques-Raby, whose parent is Philip Raby, a member of Local 354.