Skip to content

Protect your raises in retirement: Send an email to OMERS now!

Protect your raises in retirement: Send an email to OMERS now!

Pensions and Benefits Logo
Pensions and Benefits Logo
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email

In June 2020, the OMERS Sponsors Corporation Board will be voting on whether to get rid of guaranteed indexing, which threatens our raises in retirement. Read more here about why this is a really bad idea.

Take action today! Write to the OMERS Sponsors Corporation (SC) Board demanding that they keep guaranteed indexing in the plan.

Simply cut and paste the sample text below into your own email, sign it with your own name and email address, and then send it to the email addresses of the OMERS SC Board members listed below.

Sample text (please feel free to personalize):

Dear Mr. Rolland, Mr. Vanden Haak, and members of the OMERS Sponsors Corporation Board,

As a member of OMERS, I am writing to demand that you keep guaranteed indexing in our pension plan, which guarantees our cost of living raises in retirement.

There is no reason to get rid of guaranteed indexing. The plan is healthy and on track to return to 100 per cent funded status. It has performed so well that you gave yourselves large raises this year. How can you give yourselves raises while putting ours in doubt?

The President of my union, Warren (Smokey) Thomas, has already pointed out to you that it is unfair to proceed with a vote on stripping our guaranteed indexing in June 2020. We are in the midst of a pandemic and have neither the time nor the energy to absorb and give meaningful feedback on this significant change to our plan.

But if you insist on holding the vote in June, you should vote “no” to shared risk indexing. My cost of living raises in retirement are extremely important to me. It’s one of the most important benefits in our pension plan. I demand that you keep guaranteed indexing in our plan.

I expect a prompt response to this email which includes a commitment to either vote “no” to cancelling guaranteed indexing in June, or to at least postpone the vote until four months after the state of emergency is over.

Sincerely,
[Your name and email address]

Send to:

Michael Rolland, OMERS Chief Executive Officer: mrolland@omers.com
Chris Vanden Haak, OMERS Vice President: cvandenhaak@omerssc.com
Frank Ramagnano, SC Board Employee Rep (OPFFA) Co-Chair: ramagnano@torontofirefighters.org
Barry Brown, SC Board Employer Rep Co-Chair: bxbrown@gmail.com
Dan Axford, PAO Rep: lpadan@me.com
Paul Bailey: paulbailey606@gmail.com
Frederick Biro: fbureau33@gmail.com
Jason Chan, CUPE: jchan@cupelocal79.org
Peter Derochie: peter.derochie@gmail.com
Marianne Love: m_love@rogers.com
Charlie Macaluso: cmacaluso@mearie.ca
Mary McConville: marymcconville112@gmail.com
Joe Pennachetti, MROO Rep (Retirees): pennachettijoe@gmail.com
Guilia Volpe, OPSEU Rep: giuliavolpe.omerssc@gmail.com
Sandra Sahli, OSSTF Rep: srsahli@hotmail.com
John Weatherup, CUPE Rep: john.weatherup@cupe4400.org