Water is Life symposium

Water is Life Symposium, Wed., March 22, 2017, George Brown College. Image of Indigenous woman created by Tannis Nielsen, Cree artist
Wednesday, March 22, 2017
9:00 AM to 4:00 PM
Facebook
Twitter
Email

Indigenous communities across Ontario are in the midst of a water crisis. ​​

The "Water is Life" symposium will bring together Elders from communities under water advisories, water protectors in the Toronto region, and Indigenous activists to address the impact of privatization on potable water, especially as it impacts Indigenous and other vulnerable communities. The date, March 22, is United Nations World Water Day.

The symposium is organized by the OPSEU Indigenous Mobilization Team (IMT) and the George Brown Indigenous Services and Education Centre.

The purpose of the IMT is “to mobilize within the Indigenous communities to build partnerships based on common ground to establish and/or retain public services that remain under threat of privatization.” 

For more information, please contact tvining@opseu.org.

Poster created by Tannis Nielsen, Cree artist

Poster created by Tannis Nielsen, Cree artist

Itinerary of event

Download PDF of the poster

Related Events

Tuesday, May 28, 2024
To Thursday, May 30, 2024
9:00 AM to 3:00 PM
OPSEU/SEFPO Head Office, 100 Lesmill Road, Toronto, ON, M3B 3P8
Thursday, May 30, 2024
To Friday, May 31, 2024
9:00 AM to 1:00 PM
OPSEU/SEFPO, 155 Lesmill Rd, Toronto, ON, M3B 2T8
Saturday, June 1, 2024
To Sunday, June 2, 2024
9:00 AM to 12:00 PM
Monday, June 3, 2024
To Wednesday, June 5, 2024
9:00 AM to 3:00 PM
OPSEU/SEFPO Head Office, 100 Lesmill Road, Toronto, ON, M3B 3P8
Thursday, June 6, 2024
To Friday, June 7, 2024
Delta Hotel Toronto Airport and Conference Centre
Saturday, June 8, 2024
All day
Toronto