Skip to content

Walking With Our Sisters memorial to honour Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women

Beaded moccasins
Saturday, October 14, 2017
To Sunday, October 29, 2017
12:00 AM to 12:00 AM
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email

The Walking with Our Sisters (WWOS) memorial creates a sacred space in which the spirits of missing and murdered Indigenous women, two spirit people, and children are honoured and continue to live in the hearts and minds of their families and communities. WWOS Toronto will be open to the public from October 14-29, 2017 at the Urban Indigenous Education Centre (near Donlands and Danforth).

This commemorative art installation features over 1,900 pairs of unfinished moccasins (vamps) created and donated by hundreds of caring and concerned individuals to draw attention to the untimely and unjust disappearances and deaths of valued community members. WWOS is more than an art installation, it is a ceremony that creates space for the community to collectively remember, honour, and grieve loved ones. The vamps are intentionally not sewn into completed moccasins and represent the unfinished lives of women and children taken from our communities. The ceremony is traveling for a total of 7 years to communities across Canada and the United States. Each community is responsible for fundraising to cover the costs of hosting the ceremony. WWOS Toronto is organized entirely by volunteers and guided by community Elders.

w_wwos_fundraising_poster_004.jpg

​www.walkingwithoursisters.ca

Related Events

Thursday, November 5, 2020
8:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Friday, November 6, 2020
To Saturday, November 7, 2020
9:00 AM to 1:00 PM
Friday, November 13, 2020
To Saturday, November 14, 2020
9:00 AM to 1:00 PM
Virtual
Friday, November 20, 2020
To Saturday, November 21, 2020
9:00 AM to 1:00 PM
Virtual
Saturday, November 28, 2020
9:00 AM to 12:30 PM
Virtual
Wednesday, December 2, 2020
9:00 AM to 4:00 PM
Virtual