June 21 campaign at Queens Park

Indigenous Circle / Cercle des Autochtones
Monday, December 2, 2019
7:30 AM to 10:30 AM
Facebook
Twitter
Email

7:30 am – 9:30 am Legislative Breakfast
9:30 – 10:30 am Mini Kairos blanket exercise
Queens Park Room 230

The June 21 campaign is made up of a broad spectrum of community and OPSEU Indigenous members who strongly support making June 21 a statutory holiday, to be designated “Indigenous Day.” As we journey down the road of reconciliation, it is time to recognize the contributions and sacrifices that the many Indigenous Nations across Canada have made. Establishing June 21 as Indigenous Day would take us one step farther on the path to that long-awaited reconciliation.

Ontario would join Yukon and the Northwest Territories in making June 21 a statutory holiday. We strongly encourage the Ontario government to follow their good example. We also urge all MPPs to highlight this yearly celebration in their riding with events where Indigenous and non-Indigenous can gather to create and strengthen opportunities for reconciliation and cultural exchange.

MPPs are encouraged to sign a certificate pledging their support for the June 21 holiday.

We hope to see as many MPPs as possible from all political parties at the breakfast and Blanket Exercise. In attendance will be members of the Indigenous Circle, OPSEU designates, Indigenous community leaders and members of the public.

Please contact tvining@opseu.org for more information.

Related Events

Friday, October 22, 2021
To Sunday, October 24, 2021
All day
Tuesday, November 2, 2021
To Thursday, November 4, 2021
10:00 AM to 3:00 PM
Virtual meeting
Thursday, November 4, 2021
All day
Zoom
Friday, November 5, 2021
To Saturday, November 6, 2021
9:00 AM to 5:00 PM
Virtual
Monday, November 8, 2021
To Wednesday, November 10, 2021
All day
Virtual
Friday, November 12, 2021
To Saturday, November 13, 2021
9:00 AM to 3:00 PM
Virtual