Emergency phone zap: 10 paid sick days now!

Ontario's paid sick days are expiring July 31. Send a message to the Premier now.
Tuesday, July 12, 2022
5:30 PM to 6:30 PM
Zoom
Facebook
Twitter
Email

Join Justice for Workers on Tuesday, July 12 from 5:30-6:30 p.m. to demand 10 employer-paid sick days now! We’ll be calling the Premier as well as the Labour and Health ministers.

Here’s how it works:

  1. Click here now to sign up for the phone zap on Tuesday, July 12.
  2. You’ll receive a Zoom link once you sign up.
  3. Go to the Zoom link at 5:30 p.m. on Tuesday, July 12.
  4. Over Zoom, we’ll all prepare some talking points together, and then we’ll call the Premier and ministers.

Why is this an emergency?

On July 31, the wholly inadequate Workers Income Protection Benefit (WIPD), which provided three temporary sick days to workers during the pandemic, is being cancelled by the Ford government. This means workers will have no sick days at all, as we enter the seventh wave of COVID-19.

OPSEU/SEFPO supports the call for 10 permanent, employer-paid sick days for all workers. As union members, we support strong labour rights for all workers in the province, whether unionized or not.

See you at the phone zap!

Related Events

Monday, August 8, 2022
To Friday, August 12, 2022
9:30 AM to 4:30 PM
Friday, August 12, 2022
To Sunday, August 14, 2022
7:00 PM to 12:00 PM
Tuesday, September 13, 2022
To Thursday, September 15, 2022
9:00 AM to 3:00 PM
Virtual
Friday, September 16, 2022
To Saturday, September 17, 2022
1:00 PM to 4:30 PM
Sheraton Parkway Toronto North Hotel & Suites 600 Hwy 7 Richmond Hill, ON L4B 1B2
Saturday, September 17, 2022
To Sunday, September 18, 2022
9:00 AM to 12:00 PM
Tuesday, September 20, 2022
9:00 AM to 3:00 PM
OPSEU/SEFPO North York Membership Centre, 155 Lesmill