2019 OPSEU Young Workers Conference

PYC Logo, fist raised against a red backdrop
Friday, August 9, 2019
To Sunday, August 11, 2019
7:00 PM to 12:00 PM
Facebook
Twitter
Email

OPSEU’s Provincial Young Workers Committee (PYC) is hard at work with plans for the upcoming Young Workers Conference, Elevate: Rising to Meet the Challenges of Uncertain Times.  This year’s event will examine the challenges young workers face in the current labour market.  More importantly, the conference will highlight the value unions bring in responding to these challenges.  The labour movement has made many gains when it comes to fair wages, safe working environments, and access to benefits, but not all workers are able to enjoy them.  Young workers, in particular, find themselves trapped in an endless cycle of low-paying, insecure jobs with little or no opportunity for advancement.

This year’s conference will build on last year’s theme and will focus on the ‘basics’ of union activism.  This is an opportunity for OPSEU’s young workers to have a say in their future.

The Call is now available here.  While this event will be open to all OPSEU members, priority will be given to young workers aged 35 and under.

Thank you for your interest in this event.  Applications are no longer being accepted.  

Related Events

Wednesday, August 24, 2022
6:00 PM to 9:00 PM
5757 Coopers Ave / Zoom
Saturday, August 27, 2022
To Thursday, January 1, 1970
All day
Holland Park 250 Fisher Ave. Ottawa
Monday, September 5, 2022
12:00 PM to 3:00 PM
North Bay waterfront
Tuesday, September 13, 2022
To Thursday, September 15, 2022
9:00 AM to 3:00 PM
Virtual
Friday, September 16, 2022
To Saturday, September 17, 2022
1:00 PM to 4:30 PM
Sheraton Parkway Toronto North Hotel & Suites 600 Hwy 7 Richmond Hill, ON L4B 1B2
Saturday, September 17, 2022
To Sunday, September 18, 2022
9:00 AM to 12:00 PM