Skip to content

2015 Provincial Women’s Conference

2015 Provincial Women's Conference Featured Image
Friday, November 6, 2015
To Sunday, November 8, 2015
7:00 PM to 1:00 PM
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email

The OPSEU Provincial Women’s Committee will be holding the 2015 Women’s Conference – The “F” Word—Reclaiming Feminism!  on November 6-8, 2015 at the Chelsea Hotel in downtown Toronto.The goal of the conference is to educate and raise awareness about how women can engage in activism in an age of both backlash against feminism and in a time of fight back to reclaim feminism. 

On these pages, you will find our conference poster, program, information about our roster of speakers, panel discussions, workshops, films and much more.

This year’s conference promises to be particularly exciting. We are pleased to present a thought-provoking roster of speakers and performers including: Judy Rebick, Septembre Anderson, Heather Jarvis, Farrah Khan, and Naomi Sayers.

We will be hosting three special presentations as well. On Saturday Night, we will have a live performance of Life on the Line: Women Strike at Eaton’s 1984-5 and on Sunday, we will be screening the film – She’s Beautiful When She’s Angry. A slam poet, Truth Is, will also be joining the conference on Sunday.

Finally, the conference will also provide skills-based workshops focusing on building solidarity and becoming allied in the following areas:

  • Women in activism: creating change and solidarity
  • Fighting pay inequity and poverty
  • Challenging the stigma: How to be an ally to sex workers

For more information, click here for the conference program

To download some of the resources included in the feminist toolkit and in the conference workshops please click on the links below.

Please also join us for discussions on Twitter #PWCConference2015 and on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/events/522122311285665/ and stay tuned for more information and resources.

Related Events

Thursday, May 21, 2020
To Saturday, May 23, 2020
9:00 AM to 12:00 PM
Friday, August 14, 2020
To Sunday, August 16, 2020
7:00 PM to 12:00 PM
Friday, October 16, 2020
To Sunday, October 18, 2020
5:30 AM to 1:00 PM
Friday, November 13, 2020
To Sunday, November 15, 2020
7:00 PM to 6:00 PM
Friday, November 20, 2020
To Sunday, November 22, 2020
5:00 PM to 1:00 PM