Equity Unit

The Equity Unit provides advice, research and support in the following key areas:

  1. For provincial and regional committees and caucuses on issues related to women, people with disabilities, workers of colour, Aboriginal workers, lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender/transsexual, intersex, asexual, queer, questioning and two spirited (LGBTTIAQQ2S) workers, francophones and young workers.
  2. In collaboration with OPSEU’s Equity Committees and Caucuses and the Member Education Unit, the Equity Unit also plans equity-themed conferences over the course of the calendar year.
  3. To members in relation to member to member harassment and discrimination complaints.
  4. To members and staff in relation to human rights and equity issues at the local level.
You can find out more about our work, how to get involved and related resources on our website.
equity logo

Equity Unit staff

Nathalie Rondeau
Human Rights Officer (Bilingual)
416.443.8888 ext. 3397
nrondeau@opseu.org

Hilda Namu
Human Rights Officer
416.443.8888 ext. 3395
hnamu@opseu.org

Margaret Smoke
Human Rights Officer
416.443.8888 ext. 3391
msmoke@opseu.org

Tyrone Davis
Human Rights Officer
416.443.8888 ext. 3396
tdavis@opseu.org

Matthew Da Silva
Human Rights Officer
416.443.8888 ext. 3390
mdasilva@opseu.org

Marjorie Nelson
Human Rights Officer
416.443.8888 ext. 3394
mnelson@opseu.org

Megan Carter
Human Rights Officer – Dismantling Systemic Racism Program
416.443.8888 ext 3399
mcarter@opseu.org

Kishandra Lewis
Human Rights Officer – Dismantling Systemic Racism Program
416.443.8888 ext. 3389
klewis@opseu.org

Renford Thomas
Human Rights Officer
416.443.8888 ext. 3388
rthomas@opseu.org

Jayme Giles
A/Administrative Assistant
416.443.8888 ext. 3398
jgiles@opseu.org

Tina Kolar
A/Secretary
416.443.8888 ext 3387
tkolar@opseu.org