Equity Unit

The Equity Unit provides advice, research and support in the following key areas:

  1. For provincial and regional committees and caucuses on issues related to women, people with disabilities, workers of colour, Aboriginal workers, lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender/transsexual, intersex, asexual, queer, questioning and two spirited (LGBTTIAQQ2S) workers, francophones and young workers.
  2. In collaboration with OPSEU’s Equity Committees and Caucuses and the Member Education Unit, the Equity Unit also plans equity-themed conferences over the course of the calendar year.
  3. To members in relation to member to member harassment and discrimination complaints.
  4. To members and staff in relation to human rights and equity issues at the local level.
You can find out more about our work, how to get involved and related resources on our website.
equity logo

Equity News

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Equity Events

Wednesday, May 12, 2021
11:00 AM to 12:30 PM
Virtual
Thursday, April 15, 2021
7:00 PM to 8:30 PM
Virtual
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Contact Us

Secretary

Kishandra Lewis
Secretary
Work: 416.443.8888 Ext 3352
Cell: 1.800.268.7376 Ext 3352
Email: equity@opseu.org

Human Rights Officers

Michael Opoku
Officer
Work: 416.443.8888 Ext. 3396
Email: mopoku@opseu.org
Hilda Namu
Officer
Work: 416.443.8888 Ext. 3395
Email: hnamu@opseu.org
Thadsha Navaneethan
Officer
Work: 416-443-8888 ext 3393
Email: tnavaneethan@opseu.org
Margaret Smoke
Officer
Work: 416.443.8888 EXT. 3391
Email: msmoke@opseu.org
Matthew Da Silva
Officer
Work: 416.443.8888 Ext. 3390
Email: mdasilva@opseu.org
Marjorie Nelson
Officer
Work: 416.443.8888 EXT. 3394
Email: mnelson@opseu.org

Equity Committees and Caucuses

Indigenous Circle
Indigenous Circle
OPSEU/SEFPO flag
Disability Rights Caucus
Provincial Francophone Committee Logo
Provincial Francophone Committee
OPSEU PHRC - SEFPO CPDP
Provincial Human Rights Committee
Collage of women's symbols
Provincial Women's Committee
OPSEU SEFPO flag
Provincial Young Workers Committee
OPSEU SEFPO Rainbow Alliance, Alliance arc-en-ciel logo
Rainbow Alliance Arc-en-Ciel
OPSEU Coalition of Racialized Workers
The Coalition of Racialized Workers
OPSEU / SEFPO flag
Solidarity Funds
Respect, Inclusion, Solidarity
Social Mapping Task Force